The year of rebuilding has been challenging. I have faced many circumstances which have strengthened me as a leader.

Today was a great day back after a much needed break. Stress was beginning to take its toll, and my body finally said enough is enough. I left school the Friday before break as soon as the student did. I crawled into bed with a 104 fever and slept for fourteen hours. I woke up fine and enjoyed the rest of break spending time with my own boys, going to movies, enjoying the beach, and reading.

Shaw currently has seven vacancies to fill. We have a plan in place to meet the needs of the students until permanent teachers are hired. I am trying to not be overwhelmed by the magnitude of the situation. Instead I am going to focus on hiring one teacher at a time.

In the meantime, I want to celebrate the teachers who have joined me on this journey and who give their all every day. They make a difference in the lives of children, and they need to be told every day how important their work is.