We spent the weekend at Embry-Riddle for their preview day, and we are excited Jadon has enrolled for the Fall 2019 term.

Friday night we attended the open house hosted by the College of Arts and Sciences.  Jadon had the opportunity to talk with current students who are active in a variety of clubs.  We had a chance to view physics demonstrations including a homemade fire pit in which the flames flickered to the tune of the playing song, view planets, and discuss rocket propulsion.

The best part of the evening by far was visiting the Rocket Club and talking with Justin.  My son was seeking advice regarding the descent and parachute of his current rocket and the young man we were talking to told us we should talk to Justin because he loves parachutes.  Within minutes, Justin’s eyes were lit up as he approached and said, “I hear you want to know about parachutes.  I loooove parachutes!”  His passion about parachutes was instantly contagious.  The next thing I know I have my phone out taking notes about Theo Knackne, DTIC, and drag coefficients.  Jadon left with a solution to his rocket problem, and I left with new found knowledge about a subject matter that had never interested me before.

I’ve thought a lot about Justin over the past couple of days, and I have decided the world would benefit if we were all more like Justin.  Just imagine if your child’s high school English Lit teacher invoked that level of enthusiasm when studying Hamlet? What if your child’s third grade teacher was super excited about how to write a paragraph?  We would have children who are actually excited to learn, write and share their ideas.

My goal is to be more like Justin when I am talking about the things I love whether it is a book I’m reading, my job, or my family.