I finally took the first steps in assembling my rock star staff for Shaw.  The number of vacancies (it is now down to 20)  we need to fill is certainly a challenge, but I must admit it is a very exciting one.  Never again in my career will I have the opportunity to hire half my staff at one time.  I get to be very selective, and I am choosing great teachers who will be able to help me achieve my vision of providing a rigorous, fun education in a positive environment to very deserving and capable children.

I realize my future teachers are usually a little nervous  during the interviews, but what they don’t realize is I am a little nervous too.  I am seeking out the most effective teachers to put in front of our students, and once I notice his / her potential I switch gears and begin selling myself as a leader and our school as a great place to make a difference and grow as an educator and a person.

I have a mission statement, but I now also have a focused purpose.  I want to help others succeed.  If you are a part of Shaw Elementary, I will work hard to help you be successful at whatever you are doing.  I will help students, custodians, office staff, instructional staff, paraprofessionals, our student nutrition staff, bus drivers, and parents.  I’ll only be successful when I help those around me reach their goals.