As an educational leader, I feel I do a pretty good job of holding people to high expectations.  I even have survey data which shows 98% of my instructional staff would agree.  Sunday, however, I did what many people do when they get desperate for success.  I actually lowered my expectations simply to make reaching my goal easier.  I was shocked myself, and when I reflected on my actions, I quickly reversed my lowered standards back to the previous level.

Luckily, my lowered expectations had nothing to do with education, but they had everything to do with a little black band I wear daily to track my steps.  I lowered my Fitbit goal by 2000 steps just because I was tired of not reaching my daily goal for over ten days.  I realized I walk a lot less during the day when students are not on campus, and it is really hard for me to get 10,000 steps in before I head to bed each night.  Lowering my expectations was not going to help me improve my overall fitness level.  Reaching an easier goal did nothing for my heart and lungs; it simply gave me a star on my daily Fitbit chart.

I am proud to say I have now reached my initial goal of 10,000 steps per day four days in a row, and I will hit it again today.  What did I do differently? I reintroduced fitness time into my morning routine.  I am out and about walking/running every morning before I come to work.  I reach 50% of my goal before I even get to work.

I’ve even decided to set a higher goal of running a half-marathon this fall.  I already have my training schedule on my phone, and I know if I don’t lower my expectations again I will be crossing the finish line at the end of October.