I do not get to spend as much time as I would like with individuals.  I currently have 105 staff members.  If I were to spend an equal amount of time with each of them during the week it would be 23 minutes each.  That is if I did nothing else during the week except meet with staff members, but unfortunately that is not my reality.  I am constantly pulled in many directions which include observing teachers, offering feedback, investigating discipline issues, problem solving, hiring, meeting with district personnel, etc.  It really is a never ending list.

I wonder how well people really know me considering I don’t really reveal myself openly.  I would hope they have a pretty good idea through my actions, but I want to help them out by listing what I value most.  I think this will be especially helpful for new staff members or educators considering joining Team Shaw.

  • Having Fun
  • Family time
  • Punctuality
  • Honesty
  • Concise language
  • Smiles and greetings — Saying “Good Morning” is important
  • Respecting others (especially children)
  • Problem solvers
  • People who question ideas
  • Always doing what is best for our kids
  • True team players
  • People who are willing to lead up
  • Apologizing publicly
  • People who don’t gossip
  • Choosing to see the positive rather than complaining.
  • Putting other first
  • A servant attitude
  • Adults who can say “I’m sorry” or “I was wrong” to a child
  • Reflecting and making changes
  • Courageous conversations
  • Decisiveness

 

That’s a good start for now.  I would love for others to list important things I may have missed.  What do you value?