I’m sure once summer arrives I will be able to write very long, insightful, and possibly inspiring posts.  For now, however, it looks as if I must settle for quickly writing down my thoughts when I have a few minutes to spare.

During my webinar yesterday, they discussed characteristics teachers look for in a principal.  Top on the list was someone who is motivating and inspiring.  That caught my attention because I love leaders who are inspiring and motivating as well.  What motivates me, however, might be quite different than what motivates one of my staff members.  I think I will give you some insight into what motivates / inspires me.

  • someone giving me the opportunity to try something new
  • being told I helped someone out
  • a child’s hug
  • personal notes
  • hearing success stories
  • a smile
  • people with positive spirits
  • having deep conversations about school improvement
  • people using my suggestions to get better at what they do
  • reaching a goal after hard work

I would love to hear about what motivates and/or inspires you.